~Farmhouse Table Centerpieces~

My hubby built our farmhouse table back in 1998 and I love it just as much today as I did back then. This picture was taken this past Christmas…and my centerpiece was ornaments in the wood dough bowel with a swan.

D-1

After the holidays…I took the ornaments out of the bowl and the table centerpiece looks like this right now.

Swan

You all know that I’m loving the “plain and simple” style…but I’m thinking that something else needs to be in this bowel too.  It is just too plain!….Any ideas?

I have been thinking about changing the centerpiece to this…had the old coal bucket with flowers on my farmhouse table and the heart hanging from the quilt last year in February.

OldCoalBucket

Then in the Spring…I brought out the Martha Stewart pitcher with platter that I picked up at a local thrift shop for $4.oo and put Hydrangeas from my flower garden in it.

Hydrangeas-2

And for the summer months…I put red, white, and blue rag-balls and fabric wrapped clothes pins with a lantern bag that had a battery candle light in it.

BTR

In the Fall…I had pumpkins and indian corn in my dough bowl, but forgot to take a picture of it. There was just too much going on with craft shows and working on the new kitchen.

I have figured out what to use for my table centerpiece for every time of the year except for winter…

Swan

and my swan looks so lonely. Help!!!…all suggestions welcome.

I’m linking up to Cindy’s “Old Time Party” over at the “Old Time Farmhouse” http://oldtimefarmhouse.blogspot.com/2013/02/old-time-party-and-giveaway-5.html

Until next time…….         farmhouse blessings, Cindy

 

18 responses to “~Farmhouse Table Centerpieces~

  • Jean Ross

    Hi Cindy, I have a bowl similar to yours and I have pinecones and faux greenery in it. Winter can be hard time to decorate for me,too. Jean

  • earlene

    Cindy I Love your dining room…so pretty…and the quilt backdrop is beautiful and a perfect touch. All the centerpieces are great displays and not sure what else to use with the swan.
    Have a wonderful day Cindy!
    See you in 6 more weeks!!!

  • lifeonbuttermilkhill

    Oh, Cindy! It’s beautiful! I love the table…I want to replace mine with a farmtable…my brother is a woodworker and would love to have him make one for me. I just drool over your quilt..and the light! Why don’t you just surround the swan with greens..maybe with snow flocking on them. Simple, but I think it would be pretty with the swan. –stay warm!!–Jan

  • Trace

    Beautiful table and home.
    Love the bowl and swan,
    I am thinking white washed eggs or pinecones.
    Woolie hugs
    Trace

  • Sandy

    Hey Cindy; I love all of your decorations! That quilt is amazing. How bout some little fabric hearts in the bowl with your swan since Valentine’s Day is right around the corner. Or two smaller swans facing each other so they make a heart with their heads and necks. Ok, all outta ideas now. Have fun and stay warm. Happy February! Sandy

  • Carmen Smith

    He did a wonderful job on the table Cindy, I love it! Love all your ways of decorating it too! I am going to be packing alot of my pretties away for awhile, my son is deploying this summer and our DIL and Tyler will be coming to live with us while he is gone, never thought at my age I’d be toddler proofing again,lol! Have a great day and stay warm;)

  • Old Time Cindy

    You do better than me. I don’t have table decor to match all the seasons. :) Yours look great. I would have to go with what some others have said about maybe adding some pinecones. Thanks for boot scootin’ on over to join in at the Old Time Party!
    Farmhouse hugs,
    Cindy

  • kelly

    I love you farm table! You’re so lucky to have a handy husband like that. I like how you’ve come up with different centerpiece ideas for each season too. For winter, I was going to suggest pinecones as I see a lot of others have suggested as well. You could also do red apples for a pop of color during this dreary time of year. I like pops of red in a country kitchen anyway. Also, red looks good in that color dough bowl. I’m sure you’ll have fun coming up with something!

  • Lavender Dreams

    Hearts…you need some small hearts to put around your swan. I sure love my swan and need to make some hearts today. I know I said that last weekend…where does the time go? heehee!

  • Cheryl

    I like the heart idea with the swan being that Valentines Day will be here soon. Love that light!
    Keep warm,
    Cheryl

  • Keeping It Cozy

    What a beautiful table! I love the wooden bowl… my decorations in the winter tend to be very simple too. :-)

  • Mimi Sue

    You have a beautiful table! Even better that your honey made it. I love hammered aluminum and have a couple of pieces too. Mimi

  • Carlene@Organized Clutter

    I can’t think of anything to go with tthe swan, Cindy. If I do I will let you know!

  • Ann Drake

    How lucky you are to have a handmade table…it’s beautiful. Maybe some lemons and limes in the bowl? They won’t last but for a few days it would be lovely!

  • Celestina Marie

    Hi Cindy, I just love all the seasonal table centerpieces you share. How about some hearts around the swan this month and maybe a few country style shamrocks next month.
    Thank you for the well wishes. I am a bit better but have a touch of pleurisy now. Have a rest a bit longer. I am finding I am not too good at that part.
    Hugs, Celestina Marie

  • Jann Olson

    Hi Cindy, I adore your farm table. Sure wish hubby would build me one for my basement. I don’t think he would think he could do a good enough job but he’s more talented than he gives himself credit. The swan in the dough bowl is fun. I always think that pinecones work for winter, but the more I thought about it I think it would be fun just to add some small white saucers, cups, or bowls. Whatever you might have. Kind of like the idea of all white. I noticed your awesome shaker boxes in one pic. Love, love them. I have a stack of only 3. Jealous! lol!
    hugs,
    Jann

  • Dru (The Farmer's Daughter)

    Hey, Cindy! Love your Plain & Simple style! And, your farm table. Of course I would! Hearts and maybe rag balls–just a few? The coal bucket and flowers are stunning, too. Love the pop of red. Too many choices!
    Blessings!
    Dru

  • Teresa

    Cindy thanks so much for stopping and for your sweet comments on our Farmhouse Table. I love yours and it looks so pretty with the swan centerpiece in the dough bowl!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

