~Crafting on a Snowy Day~

Before I get to the crafty project that I did today…thought I would let you know that I did get to the garage sale/vintage show, but it was not worth the $3.50 per person that we paid to get in. There were a few vintage booths and a few primitive booths…plus a few garage sale booths, but the rest were booths full of stuff Made In China. My daughter got a few things, but I didn’t buy anything. I did see a bunch of old jewelry pieces, but they weren’t in good enough condition for me to reuse in my necklaces.

Now for what I did today…

My sister gave me this wood pear several months ago…she found it while out thrifting.

PR-1

I decided that it needed a little makeover…so my sister gave me an old newspaper she had and I went to work on covering it with clips from the newspaper.

PR-2

After I got it all covered…I thought that the old newspaper still didn’t look old enough, so I rubbed some brown gel stain onto the paper…and I really liked how it turned out.

PR-3

I now have another Pear to add to my collection…and for now, it is on the shelf above the sofa in the living room.

PRS-1

My little grandson’s birthday was today and his birthday party is on Saturday…I can’t believe that he is 4 years old…time sure goes by so quickly.  I will be working on his cake for the next couple of days and will be back soon with photos to share of his fire truck cake and cupcakes.

Until then…….        farmhouse blessings, Cindy

10 responses to “~Crafting on a Snowy Day~

  • Celestina Marie

    Hi Cindy, your pear is a great project. The added gel stain gives it a great old look. Perfect craft for a snow day inside. We are having one here today too. The first this season beside the very cold temps. Woke to snow dust and 14 degrees. Brrr.
    I love to create, cozy inside when the weather is bad.
    Have fun with the cake. I know it will be fabulous and looking forward to seeing it. Happy Birthday to your little grandson.
    Hugs

  • Carol Cook

    I was thinking you would paint it and then I saw the paper. What a great idea and it looks perfect on your shelf.

    Very clever!

  • Cheryl

    Love what you did to the pear………great project for a snowy day!
    Hugs

  • Trace

    What a great idea.
    Looks fantastic.
    Cant wait to see your masterpiece.
    Woolie hugs

  • Old Time Cindy

    Darn…nothing is worse than being excited about a show and it turns out to be a dud. Like your pear, though!

  • Betsy

    Too bad the show was a bust, but if you didn’t go, you’d be wondering what you might have missed. Cute makeover on the pear.

  • Sheila

    Good morning Cindy!
    I love what you did with the pear! It’s always fun to stop by and see what friends come up with in the re-do department! I’m ready to go junkin’ too! We are finally getting snow here in south east Idaho there won’t be going anywhere for me today………..the winds are horrible so I believe I will continue to create the confines of my nice warm basement craft room!

    Take care~
    Sheila

  • Must love junk

    I really love how your pear turned out!! Great job :)
    Susan

  • Jann Olson

    Hi Cindy, you can tell that I am playing catch up. Love how the pear turned out! Yes, looked much better with the gel stain.
    hugs,
    Jann

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers