~Loving Me Some Whites~

I have been wanting more white in my decor for a while now and for some reason was just very nervous about picking up the paint brush. Well…I finely did it and started painting some pieces white.

I’ve had these 2 wood bowls for several years…pick them up for next to nothing when a local little prim shop closed.

BS-1

Well…they just were not fitting in with the farmhouse style that I’m wanting in my home. So they got a makeover and I just love how these bowls turned out. Painted them white and then distressed them with a little gel stain and some sanding.

BS-2

Also painted this wood plate…it was a light orange, but I forgot to take a before photo of it.

JC-1

This wooden bowl with a handle also got painted white…it was dark brown before I painted and distressed it.

ET-1

Couldn’t stop there…so I painted this little box white too.

S-2

A few months ago, I painted these bandboxes…one white and the other one red. Now I’m wondering if I should paint the red one white…

BB (2)

…but I do have some touches of red in the living room.

Just ignore the blanket on the back of the sofa…I keep that there for the Yorkie girls to sleep on.

SP

But I’m just wondering if it would look better if both of the bandboxes were white. Hmmm…what do you think?

My next big project is to paint the huge wood trunk white that we use as the coffee table in front of the sofa.

Until next time…….       farmhouse blessings, Cindy

 

 

 

 

 


19 responses to “~Loving Me Some Whites~

  • Suzan

    Love all your touches of white – and I think the red box on top of the white is soooo pretty !
    I’m featuring a house today that embraces color ( everything I do is black – white – or grey ) and suddenly I’m thinking I need color LOL
    XOXO

  • Celestina Marie

    Hi Cindy, I love the redos to white. I might paint the red box too and stack them for a farmhouse look, but for that pop of red you are using, I would leave it too. It’s only paint right? It can always be painted back to any color you need. I have done the same here over the last few years and it is amazing the look it gives. Now if I want a pop of color I just add it with pillows and flowers etc. The white is so fresh and peaceful with seasonal pops of color brought in. Enjoy the fun.
    Happy Decorating.
    Hugs

  • Lavender Dreams

    I like the red one and it makes a nice contrast. You’ve made some pretty changes….I need to do a little more this week! It’s nice to lighten things up for Spring. Sweet hugs!

  • Carol

    You should paint the red box white 🙂 Everything looks nice, I love the whites too. I need you at my house as I need some things painted white too.
    Blessings,
    Carol

  • kelly

    Well you know what I think of white! I love the new looks you’ve created using a little white paint.

  • "her" and Romeo

    Loving the whites, but you knew I’d say that didn’t you 😉 Hope all is well!

    Hugs and purrs,

    “her” and Romeo

  • Trace

    I love your farmhouse whites.
    Those bowls turned out wonderful.
    Great job.
    I think I would also paint the box white, but I do love red 🙂
    Woolie Blessings

  • Betsy

    Love all the little changes you’ve made with white paint…so fresh and updated. I’m kind of liking the red box; it does add a pop of color and goes with your decor. Looking forward to seeing your painted trunk when it’s finished.

  • Diane

    I love your little touches of white and your painted box, very pretty. Thanks for the nice comments on the coastal pics I shared. I always enjoy showing pics of the coast, especially the lighthouses.

  • Roxie

    hi Cynthia, I think the box creamy white or white would look great. You have a lot of nice wood which compliments white very well. Everything is looking very lovely. I personally love white….It cheers things up. I like the floral pillows you have on your couch too. That’s a nice touch of color and your check curtains look fabulous with everything you are putting together. The vignette you shown with the pitchers and bowls with the curtains is very pretty. It’s so warm and soft! Looking GOOD! Blessings~~~Roxie p.s…come visit my blog, I’m having a give-a-way!!

  • Mimi Sue

    All that white really lightens up a room, don’t you think? Everything looks great. Love your pincushions and that wedding dress! To die for!! Mimi

  • Crafty Home Cottage

    Good Morning Cynthia, Isn’t it wonderful what a coat of new paint can do. For the price of a quart of paint you can re-do so many things. I’m looking at shabby chicing an electric fireplace and putting it into my bedroom 🙂 I think with your red accents in the room, keeping the small box red is perfect. You don’t what to have everything too matchy – matchy. And . . . Your white bowls turned out gorgeous 🙂
    Have a wonderful day.
    Your blogging sister, Connie 🙂

  • linda56

    wow….it looks so great….I love the new pieces…..I am thinking there is going to be a paint fest at my house too…lol….as soon as I get home….lots of whites…..taupe’s…..and grays……you know I am loving what you are doing and I also wanted to take the time to say thank you for being such a positive blogger and friend…..I don’t know if you notice but I took one of my post down this week…because of negative comments…..even if I don’t like a style….I would never post anything to be mean…..and I was so glad to see your comment on that post….thanks once again….I know there are some folks who only like country primitive …but there are a lot of different styles and I appreciate each and every one of them….I sure wish others could too….your comment meant so much to me….

  • Old Time Cindy

    The weather getting to you? LOL! Get a paintbrush in your hand and you can’t stop. I like the changes of white and I like that pop of red, too. Have a great weekend!

  • Cheryl

    I too love white, but I think that pop of red does something!
    Hugs

  • Jann Olson

    Hi Cindy, Love all of the touches of white! I painted a couple of those wooden bowls mustard to hold small things in my craft room. You know I love red. I like the pop of color on the white box, but if you want something more soothing it would look great white too. Now, I just confused you, right? lol!
    hugs,
    Jann

  • A house full of vintage

    Love all the white! I’m a very neutral person as well with a little pop of color here and there. It all looks wonderful!

  • The Rusty Pearl

    I love all the white. I love it all. Hope that the rest of the week is blessed my friend …. Spring is nearly here YAY

  • Angie Berry

    Oh Cindy, I had to laugh as I read through this post. For I am right there too. Just this past year I have been thinking about adding some white to my home. I know if I start to paint things that I will find more and more things to paint, lol!

    You are actually the one that has me looking for ironstone pitchers and I’m loving how it blends in so well with the prim look. 🙂

Leave a comment