~Exciting News and Changes Coming to my Blog~

Things have been very busy and crazy around my house. I have been spending a lot of time in my kitchen…just a few days ago the shelf in my kitchen looked like this…

…and now it looks like this. Not one white pitcher or basket on it!!

This is what the top of my microwave cabinet looked like a few days ago…

…and now there is no microwave cabinet there at all.  Why?…because I am getting a new kitchen and that is exciting news to me!!

Wow…just look at the wallpaper that we found behind the microwave cabinet.

We think the wallpaper is from the 50’s or 60’s…our house was built back in 1956. The tile layer you see was the back-splash that was up when we move in and then a few years back…we put in the copper back-splash, which will go back up.

I have been very busy trying to get everything out of the cabinets and taking down all my kitchen decor. Also had to take down what was beside the fridge on the half wall between the kitchen and the dining room…because we are taking out part of that wall to open the walk-way between these two rooms.

And the dishwasher is finally going to be beside the sink…right now, it is clear across the kitchen from the sink and what a pain that is. There will be nothing left in the kitchen after we gut it…everything is going to be new from the floor up…except the fridge, stove, and dishwasher. I’ve had such a hard time picking out the counter tops and the floor. Those samples are so small that it is hard to picture what it would really look like in the kitchen, but I have finally picked everything out.

It’s funny…but I loved this kitchen when we moved in back in 1993, because it was a brand new kitchen. The only problem was that they put in cheap cabinets. The fronts are all wood, but the rest is particle board and the finish didn’t hold up very well on them. A few years after we lived here, we had an electrical fire in between one of the kitchen wall’s that was caused by a melting ice dam that was on the roof. It ruined the sides of a couple of cabinets when the water starting coming down through the kitchen ceiling. The insurance company gave us the money to replace them…but those cabinets were no longer being made and we didn’t have the money to put in a whole new kitchen back then, so I’ve had 2 cabinets with warped sides all these years. We’ve been wanting to put a new kitchen in for the last 15 years…but have seriously been thinking and planning for it for the last 4 to 5 years and it is now happening.

Here is what the new cabinets look like…they are natural hickory, but I am putting darker knobs on my cabinets then the ones in this photo.

Well…I need to get back to boxing up things that we don’t need to use right now and trying to figure out where to put the items that we do need. My house is a mess right now…can’t even find the top of my dining room table and the family room on the lower level is starting to look like a storage room. I know that all this mess will be worth it in the end.

This kitchen remodel has got me thinking about my decorating style and my creating style…and I decided that this a good time to follow my heart and make some changes to my blog. Will share more about these decisions that I’ve made here real soon.

Until next time…….         blessings, Cindy

19 responses to “~Exciting News and Changes Coming to my Blog~

  • Lil Raggedy Angie

    O Cindy a new kitchen ??? that is EXCITING cant wait to see it when its all done …its gonna be BEAUTIFUL Im sure ! O and I just love that hanging scale you have :0) Have a great week hugs lil raggedy angie

  • Christina

    Fantastic news! I know your super excited for a new kitchen and just think, you get to decorate all over again.
    ~Christina

  • Donna

    Outstanding…there’s nothing like a new kitchen…we redid ours last year and I’m still fixing it up and making changes in the accessories…can’t wait to see your finished product…

    Donna

  • lifeonbuttermilkhill

    What exciting news!! I’m sure your new kitchen will be gorgeous–love hickory wood. If you would like, I’d be happy to store some of your prim goodies in MY house while the kitchen is being done! 😉 I had to laugh at the old wallpaper you uncovered–it looks EXACTLY like the paper I remember in my aunt’s house when I was little! Yep–50’s sounds right ! The mess will be well worth it when the kitchen is finished!–Jan

  • Carmen Smith

    I love, LOVE those cabinets!!!!! Can’t wait to see the project all complete:)Love your blue glass jars too! Have a wonderful day Cindy!!!

  • Lavender Dreams

    That really is exciting! It’s so nice to make such a dramatic improvement. The hickory cabinets are beautiful and your prim decor with go so nice with that wood. It even smells wonderful! I’m happy for you, my friend! You can pack all the stuff above your cabinets into my box! heeheehee! Hugs!

  • Gina

    wow that wallpaper is a blast from the past…love the new cabinets they will look so good with your new farmhouse romance cottage look..oh I can’t wait to see it all done and decorated…we remodeled ours about 6 years ago and it wasn’t as bad as i thought it would be…but am glad its done.;)

  • deppenhomestead

    hi, Cindy~So excited for you~ sounds like you were in need of some new cupboards~ it is going to be pretty~Beautiful hickory~
    looking forward to updates~
    Giggles~ beware of the dust~ Achoooo~but it will all be worth it~
    smiles
    Teresa

  • Amy

    Oh my so exciting! Can’t wait to see it all finished up! Warm Blessings!~Amy

  • Carol

    Wow! How about that old paper and tile…lol. This is great and now we’ll have to wait to see the new one.
    Hugs~Carol

  • lifeonbuttermilkhill

    Forgot to say–save the old cupboard doors for crafting!!–Jan

  • Cyndy Weeks

    We redid ours a few years ago, I didn’t realize how much stuff was in the cabinets, we gutted ours too, kept only the fridge, we lived on take-out for about 3 weeks, so worth it. Enjoy!!!

  • Dawn

    Congratulations! Can’t wait to see pictures, Dawn

  • Tonya

    Oh how sweet it is when the lady of the house gets a new Kitchen! I can’t beging to imagine how excited you are..lots of work but when its all done you will be one happy lady…and then will come the redecorating..more fun!
    Very Exciting News…Have fun packing and pitching and giving away so the future Cindy’s kitchen is ready beautify!

    Hugs
    Tonya

  • Lecia

    So exciting getting a new kitchen. To me the kitchen is the heart of the home. Can’t wait to see pictures! hugs, Lecia

  • Carmen

    That is exciting!!! Woohoo! Congrats!

    Carmen and he Primcats

  • Sandy

    Cindy, How exciting! Can’t wait to see the progress update pictures. I love, love, love the cabinets you picked out. Just remember throughout the process that patience is a virtue. 😉 Best of luck and congrats!

  • betty crowe

    Cindy you are going to have so much fun! I didn’t want any built in cupboards when we built. No counter space, etc. Now I wish I had at least had a few cupboards.lol Cannot wait to see what you do.

  • Karen

    That sounds wonderful! I can’t wait to see the finished results!! Have fun!

Leave a Reply

