~Kitchen Update~

Thought I would share an update on the new kitchen…and I’ll start with the fun part first.

I picked out the new countertop…but we can’t order this until the cabinets are in place. Then it will take about 3 weeks for it to come in.

I also picked out the new flooring…it is not in stock and will take about 3 days to come in once we get it ordered.

We didn’t order it yet, because we found some surprises when we took down the upper cabinets and these issues have to be taken care of first.

It was sort of a shock to see exposed electrical wires and a huge hole in the wall behind the range-hood. Guess what we are seeing in that hole?…the bathtub and the plumbing to the tub upstairs. So….Mr. D had the plumber where he works take a look at it to make sure everything look like it should and thank goodness, it does. It was suggested that we put a metal sheet over the wires and to make a drywall frame to put over the hole for the plumbing to the tub. We have decided that while we have this open to change the fixtures on our tub to new ones, since what we have in there now is pretty old.

So until we can get out to look at new fixtures for the tub and then wait for the plumber to come install them …we did this to the kitchen wall. I didn’t want any critters coming through those holes in the wall!!

My house is a mess…yes…a really big mess, but I keep telling myself that it will be worth it in the end. And to remind myself…I keep going downstairs and looking at my beautiful new cabinets that are taking up most of the family room at the moment.

Well…I hope that my next update is more exciting than this one was.

Hope everyone has a great week.

Until next time…….         blessings, Cindy

12 responses to “~Kitchen Update~

  • earlene

    Wow that is a shocker! This is so exciting!! I can’t wait to see. Will there be before and after pictures Cindy?
    ((Hugs))
    Earlene

  • Dawn

    Aren’t surprises fun???!!! Wow, that was a big one. Your cupboards are going to look so nice and it will be worth the mess when it’s over. Can’t wait to see more pictures, Dawn

  • Gina

    well you are on the right track getting things fixed now before everything gets installed…have a good week.;)

  • Lavender Dreams

    I can’t WAIT to see what Diane won! heehee! I am so excited and I’ll let you know when it gets here! I know you will be glad for all of the supplies to come so that you can get the work done. One thing always waits on another but you’ll love it when it’s finished! Don’t worry about a messy house for awhile! It will all be back to normal soon! Hugs!

  • Holly

    How exciting! I can’t wait to see more updates! It surely will be worth it in the end.

  • Carol

    Off to a good start. I’ll bet you’re anxious and giddy to be getting a new kitchen :o)
    Hugs~Carol

  • tricia

    WOOOHOOO, how exciting!!!!!!!!! I can’t wait to see your new kitchen all done. You have GREAT taste!
    We are doing siding that looks like wood, put in new window’s and 2 of them are the bow window’s and they all have the grids in between the glass.
    I am going for the colonial look. Now they are first starting the new roof because of the ice damage that we had in October. So we have alot going on, but it will be worth it just like your new beautiful kitchen.
    I am so excited for you!!!!
    (((((((HUGS))))))
    Tricia

  • tricia

    Cindy, I forgot to tell you I LOVE your new header picture on your blog.
    HUGS

  • Amy

    Never fun during the process but once you have the wonderful new kitchen it’ll be so worth the mess and inconviance.Warm Blessings!~Amy

  • Trace

    So exciting Friend!
    And it will truly be worth it.
    Have a great day
    HUGS
    Trace

  • lifeonbuttermilkhill

    Hi Cindy! I love the choices you made for flooring and your countertops. Your kitchen will be beautiful-just think how excited you will be the first time you cook in there!!It will be an amazing difference.–blessings–Jan

  • Carmen

    Looking good Cindy!!!! The mess will be worth it! Can’t wait to see the end result!

    Carmen and the Primcats

Leave a Reply

