~Painting on a Stormy Day~

What a day it has been…a very stormy day!! Today was our 3rd day in a row of having terrible storms. My sister had a tree fall on the roof of her home.

My brother and my oldest daughter had trees fall in their yards too, but missed their homes.  We are okay…and only had some branches come down in our yard. I heard that they are calling for more storms over the next few days and I’m not looking forward to that at all.

I spent most of this stormy day painting the walls in the kitchen. I will be painting the soffits tomorrow…we had to patch some bad places in them, so I couldn’t paint them until that dried.

The paint color is called Distant Valley…it is a light aqua/teal color. Sometimes is looks more blue tone and other times…it looks more green tone.  See the tiles on the wall to the right…tomorrow, the faux copper back-splash panels are going back up over that tile.

Then putting in the new flooring will be next thing we do. Slowly, but surely…we are getting through this big remodeling project.

Well…I’m going to sit here and enjoy the quiet evening for a little while longer before turning in for the night.

Until next time…….         blessings, Cindy

15 responses to “~Painting on a Stormy Day~

  • Carol

    Making progress is good. We had an evening storm. Our roof is in need of repairs due to the first one. Hubby says it moved the house… geesh. We’ll get ready for the next one then 🙂
    Carol

  • Trace

    So glad you and your family are safe.
    I too am loving the romantic cottage/farmhouse look.
    I really want to add more whites. I love your beautiful necklaces.
    You kitchen is coming along. Im sure you are getting so excited.
    Have a wonderful week.
    Hugs Friend
    Trace

    http://www.grannytracescrapsandsquares.com

  • kathy

    So glad you and your family are safe. This weather has been crazy!! Your kitchen is coming along. Lots of work but it will be beautiful.

    Kathy

  • Cheryl

    That was some storm you had! It just went around us.
    Love the paint color. The project seems to be moving right along.
    Have fun and keep cool!
    Hugs,
    Cheryl

  • Dawn

    Glad to hear you are safe! This weather is absolutely crazy this year. We need rain, but hoping that it holds off until after the 4th and the show we are doing – it’s outside. Can’t wait to see more kitchen pics, Dawn

  • Holly

    Glad you are okay! I hate storms. Ugh…stay safe thru the next few days! Love the kitchen color.

  • Lavender Dreams

    I am so sorry to hear about your sister’s house! I hope everything can be repaired. I’m loving the colors you’ve chosen for your kitchen! Enjoy your day! Hugs!

  • Cindy@OldTimePickers

    Good to hear you are okay! We have had storms all around us with none actually hitting us. In fact, we haven’t had any rain for 5-6 weeks. Have fun with that kitchen of yours!

  • Sheila

    Glad to hear everyone is ok. Been watching the Weather Channel and the pictures they’ve shown are wild! Hope the next storms are much kinder to everyone.
    We had a a terrible fire go through an area about 45 miles from us that destroyed 66 homes and many outbuildings. Thankfully no lives lost. These homes were built in a hillside area outside of town where there was very little moisture this winter. So much brush and dry grasses to catch fire. FIREWORKS are to blame!

    Hope you have a great 4th!
    take care~

  • lifeonbuttermilkhill

    It’s been quite a year for weather! The pics you posted are so scary–can you imagine the NOISE when the tree fell!?! So glad no one was injured. Ii’s a bit nervewracking watching the storms pass through Ohio and head for us, but they have all fizzled before reaching us. My heart breaks for everyone not as fortunate. You are really moving along on your project–the copper panels are so pretty and I love the paint color you chose.–have a great holiday!–Jan

  • Keeping it Cozy

    Oh dear, I’m glad everyone is okay. We’ve had several storms during the past couple years that have pulled up trees like this. It is never fun!

  • Lavender Dreams

    I’m back to say congrats on winning Brenda’s giveaway! Happy fourth!

  • Betsy

    What an awful time this has been for all of you. Happy to hear your family is safe. Very scary looking pictures and I pray that it all ends soon.
    Looks like you;ll be enjoying your remodel real soon. It looks great!

  • betty crowe

    Cindy, I know you are so excited! It is going to be so pretty. Love the color you chose. I am so sorry for those going through such chaos right now. It is hot here, and will be for a few more days. On our way home from Disney Sunday, it got hotter the farther north we came. It was hotter here than there.

  • Gina

    Hey Cindy, I can’t believe the storm damage that everyone is getting…and the silly thing about ours was there was no wind in site..a calm night till it fell over..we some some of it cleaned up today..I was going to mow..but will have to wait to see the extent of the damage to the lawnmower…there are leaves still every where..but our tree guy might come out this weekend..which would be cool..because we need to start building..and it looks like the neighbors insurance is going to cover it all..sweet.:)hope you aren’t getting anymore storms..how was your 4th? I can’t wait to see your kitchen coming together..oh I got my contacts and I have them in as we speak..the gal was a great trainer for me to do it..I did easy peasy lemon squeezy..feels weird not having to push up my glasses..i got 2 new pairs of sunglasses and a pair of funky readers..no bifocals..they were making my head hurt..they were blurry..so they popped in the non-bifocal..and we have a winner..okay I have rambled on enough take care of your sweet self and have a great rest of your week;)

Leave a Reply

