~Decorating and Painting on a Rainy Day~

We got some much-needed rain today…just wish that the rain hadn’t come with bad storms. Our weather radio was going off every few minutes for most of the morning. Storms make me very nervous…so I decided to do some decorating and painting to keep myself busy.

I had this large wood sewing spool that had a piece of wallpaper boarder wrapped around it…got it many years ago at a craft show. (Sorry I forgot to take a before photo.) I wanted to put it out on display with my other spools, so I got some wool yarn and wrapped it…

…and now it is up on top of the bookshelf with my other old sewing spools.

Then I got out my red and aqua paint and repainted a few things. First piece I repainted was this bandbox…it’s there on the right with the little basket on top of it.

Those hearts just had to go…and I love how it looks now…

I will be putting it back up on the shelf after the new kitchen is finished, but not everything that is in that photo is going back up there.

I also painted two wood spindles…one was green and the other was orange. (Sorry forgot to take a before photo of these too.) Love them in their new colors of aqua and red.

The last thing I did was to do a little decorating at the end of our hallway upstairs. The framed piece was made for me by my sister…she found this old doily at a thrift shop and put it in a frame that my hubby made. The two heart pillows were gifts from a blogging friend and the wood hummingbirds were a gift from my mom.

I just love how it looks when you walk upstairs…

The new kitchen is coming along, but we had a damaged cabinet and are waiting on the new one to come in. We will be working on the new flooring next. Hope to have more pictures of the  kitchen to share soon.

Until next time…….         blessings, Cindy

13 responses to “~Decorating and Painting on a Rainy Day~

  • Carol

    Well, you did find plenty to take your mind off the storms. It’s great how you can take the little things and make them attractive home decor. We haven’t been getting the storms 😦 a little rain, but no storms.
    Hugs~Carol

  • Gina

    Hey Cindy…I love the little decorating touches and love where you put those pillows with the doilies..I hope all is well..feels like forever since I have been in blog land..playing catch up now..have a great rest of your week..can’t wait to see that kitchen..did you list any more necklaces..I want another one..longer then the last one..so maybe I can do some layering,;)

  • Cindy@OldTimePickers

    So you’re staying busy…storms or not. We had a storm right after supper last night which blew up the electric transformer that is in our back yard. Knocked out the electricity in the whole neighborhood.

  • Lavender Dreams

    Look at your new blog desing! WOWZA! I love it! Vintage cottage style is perfect for your beautiful decorating style! I love that banner….going back to look again! It’s gorgeous!

  • Sweet Cottage Dreams

    Rain is so refreshing! We had a storm the other night that came and went, but the air smelled so fresh. LOVE the projects! That little table is cute, too! Have a sweet day!

  • Cheryl

    Love all the decorating you have going on and the changes to your blog are great!
    Hugs,
    Cheryl

  • betty crowe

    How sweet is the doilie picture. I think you got a lot done today. Love the colors.

  • deppenhomestead

    Very pretty~ Glad you all had rain~ we had some this morning early~ these storms headed are way today look nasty~ keep safe~
    smiles
    Teresa

  • Debbie

    We’ve been getting rain here too!
    Looks like you are busy changing things to your new cottage style, Cindy…looking good!!
    xo

  • Fran.

    Love your new decorations!! Upcycling what you have! Isn’t it fun and frugal!! Thanks for sharing your pics!!! XOXO Fran.

  • Rondell

    Hi Cindy! Love aqua and red together, very vintage looking, your kitchen is coming along too…so nice! Thanks for your comment on Michael’s cottage, it is sweet!

  • Carmen

    Love the spool! And nice redo’s!

    Carmen and the Primcats

  • lifeonbuttermilkhill

    Hi Cindy! Love all the redos–you’ve been so busy! I really like the change of the bandbox–but that big box is drool worthy. So anxious to see your finished kitchen.–Jan

Leave a Reply

