~Happy Anniversary to Us~

On September 1st…34 years ago today…I married the love of my life.

WP-1

We knew each other in high school, but didn’t start dating until I was a senior and he was a sophomore in college. We got engaged on Christmas of 1978. It’s a funny story…my parents got me luggage for Christmas, so I opened it up and thanked them.

They said “No…open the next piece of luggage.”

I said…”Why? Are you guys being mean and put another present in the last piece of luggage that I’ll open up?”

They said “Just keep opening them up.”

Well…much to my surprise…it was my engagement ring and Gary ask me to marry him!!

So on Labor Day weekend of 1979, we were married. My dad walked his little girl down the aisle.

WP-2

While visiting my folks the other day, my mom told me that when my dad hugged and kissed me right before we walked up the isle…that a pearl had come off of my wedding dress. My dad put it in his suit pocket and has kept it there all these years. Mom got it out for me to see and I got all teary eyed.

We had a beautiful ceremony with all of our family and friends in the church that I had gone to since I was in the 7th grade.

WP-3

I think my hubby’s favorite part was when the minister said you can “Kiss your bride”!!

WP-4

So off we went…down the isle and I whispered…”Remember to look up.” The photographer was up in the balcony.

WP-5

I just can’t get over how young we all look.

WP-6

We had a beautiful fountain cake…they were the thing back in the late 70’s and 80’s.

WP-7

Okay…I take back what I said about my hubby’s favorite part being that he could “Kiss the bride”. I’m pretty that taking the garter off was “Way More Fun”!! And of course, his groomsmen were egging him on!!

WP-8

After a wonderful wedding reception…we headed off for our honeymoon and to start our life together.

WP-9

Happy 34th Anniversary to us and many more!!

Hope everyone had a great Labor Day Weekend. We did…had dinner at the Cheesecake Factory and did some shopping…and we’re having a movie date tomorrow. Oh my…I almost forgot…hubby surprised me with tickets to go see Vince Gill in concert next weekend.

Until next time……..         blessings, Cindy

13 responses to “~Happy Anniversary to Us~

Leave a Reply

