~Show Season is Over for this Year~

This year’s show season has now come to an end until next Fall…

NHGSB

My Christmas show had some ups and downs this year. The up side was that I had a great show and the down side was that I had several things stolen from my booth. I was not the only vendor that had this happen to them.

Let me start at the beginning…

We put the booth structure up on Wednesday afternoon and then went back on Thursday (Thanksgiving Day) morning to put the merchandise out, because the show started on Friday morning at 9am. When we arrived at the show on Friday morning…we took the tarp off the front of the booth and started doing a few finishing touches before the show started. That is when I realized that a few things had been stolen out of the booth overnight. Turns out that I was not the only one that had stuff taken out of their booth overnight…and the only people in the building overnight was the security guards. Then during the show…we had some shoplifters help themselves to some jewelry. This was the worst that I’ve ever had this happen to me.

Then on top of all of that…I had a gentleman come into the booth and walked over to the jewelry…he then turned around and looks at me and says…”I’ve seen several jewelry booths at this show and their jewelry is beautiful, but not yours.” and then he walks out of my booth. I must say this was a first for me and I didn’t know whether I wanted to laugh or cry. Why would anyone want to be that mean to someone else is beyond me.

I really did have a great show and the booth was a lot emptier when the show was over on late Sunday afternoon. I have many repeat customers that come every year to see what new things I’ve made and they become like old friends that you love seeing every year. I wouldn’t still be doing shows after 27 years…if it wasn’t for them.

SW-1

Hope to finish up my Christmas decorating tomorrow. Be back soon to share it with you.

Until then…         Christmas Blessings, Cindy

14 responses to “~Show Season is Over for this Year~

  • earlene

    Morning Cindy…that man was an a– don’t let it bother you.
    You did well and that’s all that matters and for the people who stole from you are more a—–
    Hugs!!!!
    Earlene

  • Angela

    Hi Cindy, so sorry you had things stolen from your booth. I would much rather someone ask me to give it to them, and I probably would gladly than have it stolen.Just laugh that stupid man off. There will always be some folks that haven’t had a good day, if they have not been rude to someone. I know you are relieved your shows are over. Now enjoy the holidays.
    Angela

  • Celestina Marie

    Hi Cindy, So sorry to hear you had items stolen from your booth. It really is awful when you have worked so hard and there are thieves ready to spoil the season. And the guy with the ridiculous comment is laughable. Chalk that up to a nut case. There is always someone with no brains out there and the first for us all.
    But other wise glad you had a great show, sold a lot and saw your repeat customers. That really is what it is all about. I remember those days when doing the live shows and it makes up for the crazies.
    Glad for you the rush is over for the show season and you can relax, decorate your home and enjoy.
    Looking forward to seeing your décor.
    Hugs, Celestina Marie

  • Lavender Dreams

    Your booth looks amazing and I’m sure you had lots of people oooohing and ahhhhing over everything you make. How strange to have a ‘strange’ man say something like that. I always think….I feel sorry for his wife. Wouldn’t you hate being married to a jerk like that. Sending you some extra hugs…can’t wait to see more of your decorations! Your buddy, Diane

  • The Rusty Pearl

    okay my beautiful friend. HOW did you get that snow to fall on your posts. PLEASE HELP I want that for all of december. GET TO talking sister LOL .. love the post too by the way ..hugs

  • Kelly

    I am so sorry that you had some items stolen! That’s terrible! We’ve had things from us stolen this year ourselves. My husband’s truck was broken into and a very expensive gun was stolen. Then, even worse than that, all of his lawn equipment was stolen out of his enclosed trailer that he keeps at a storage facility except the big ride on and push mowers (because they were too heavy to lift over the fence)! We’re talking thousands of dollars worth of professional equipment stolen. All of this happened this past summer. I also can’t believe that someone would be so rude to say a negative comment about your jewelry! He must be a very hateful person and have an unhappy life for him to say something like that. I would brush it off and not take it to heart! Just be glad that you’re not related to him! LOL!

  • Cheryl

    So sorry to hear you had items stolen from your booth. I know your feelings………I have had items taken from my space in the shop I’m in but they weren’t even as small as your jewelry. They had to be carrying a very large purse! On the other hand, glad you had a good show. And that strange man………he is an A___ to say something like that!
    Be talking to you soon.
    Hugs!

  • Trace

    Oh friend
    I am so very sorry.
    UGH mean people..They should all be on there own mean island!
    Your things are beautiful and so filled with love!
    Giant hugs to you.

  • Must love junk

    What?! I can’t believe that you had such awful things happen at your show! What is with some people? You know what they say about karma…!!
    I’m so glad that you had good customers that appreciate your hard work.
    Susan

  • Debbie

    What a jerk! Now with that said….I’m sorry about the theft of your items, Cindy.
    I am glad that you did well at the show, even with the people that stole your things.
    You know in your heart that your product is always top of the line. That guy was probably one of the thieves, and was trying to throw you off.
    What goes around comes around.
    I like your decorations so far.
    I love the snow on your blog, too!
    xoxo

  • Roxie

    Morning Cindy, Hopefully, there is a committee this could be talked over with and solved the next time on the thievery? Has this happened before at this location? This saddens me for all who had items stolen and the man who was more than rude to you was 1) Jealous, because someone else there sold jewelry he knew 2) He knew your jewelry was much prettier or 3) He was just a rude, grumpy old man! Just a thought……maybe change locations on this show………keep doing your shows as long as you feel like it! You have beautiful jewelry and items! Blessings~~~Roxie

  • Betsy

    That’s awful! I can’t begin to understand why someone would even think that about your jewelry, or be so rude to say that! I’ve had a few things stolen over the years, but never so much in one show. So happy to hear that it was successful for you.

  • Carlene@OrganizedClutter

    That is terrible that there was shoplifting at your show, and that you had someone slam your jewelry. Lots of work to do a show. I love your stuff. I liked the snowballs saucer cloche in your last post.

  • Laurel@chippingwithcharm

    So very sorry about all that!! Wow, don’t let it stop you though…you have a gift my friend 🙂

Leave a Reply

