~Christmas…Vintage Style~

I went with a more vintage style for my Christmas decorating this year. An elderly friend of my mother-in-law made several ornaments for us on our first Christmas over 34 years ago.

CD-1

I keep the ornaments for all these years, but for several years…they stayed in a box as I decorated with other ornaments that my girls made over the years. I’m so glad that I keep these special ornaments and that they are now out on display in my living room

CD-6

And of course…I just had to add some little snowman in with the vintage ornaments.

CD-4

She even made me a little spool ornament, because she knew that I loved to sew and she was right…I started sewing at the age of 11 and I still love sewing at the age of….. Nope, I’m not telling, but let’s just say that I’m not too far away from getting that senior discount at JoAnn Fabrics.

CD-13

The elderly lady that made these ornaments loved red birds. So when I got this one out of the box the other day…it make me smile that I have one the is for her.

CD-8

The vintage ornament in the photo below is one that my sister made me many years ago.

CD-12

She also made the one that is in the little white pitcher in the photo below.

CD-15

Although Elsie is no long here…she lived to be 102…I thank her for these special gifts that she made for us so many years ago. I will cherish them always.

CD-2

I joining Carlene over at Organized Clutter for ~Creating a Vintage Style Christmas~.

http://organizedclutterqueen.blogspot.com/2013/12/creating-vintage-style-christmas-and.html

May the joy of this season…be a joy that stays with you always.

blessings, Cindy

14 responses to “~Christmas…Vintage Style~

  • Jann Olson

    Precious ornaments Cindy. You have done a great job of showcasing them! You should hop over and link it to Carlene’s Vintage Christmas.
    hugs,
    Jann

  • Amy

    Always so nice to have memento’s of christmas past.I have a few and have started some new, like the christmas pickle.Warm Blessings!~Amy

  • jan

    HI Cindy! I have always wanted a themed tree for Christmas, but always seem to go back to using the old ornaments that have special meaning to us…the boys grade school creations, gifts from family members now gone, and ones that remind me of events…like the one santa I picked up at the airport when Craig came home the first year he was living out in Seattle. always gives me that warm, fuzzy feeling!! I love your special ornaments….enjoy the flood of warm memories….and have a very Merry Christmas!!….Jan

  • Sheila

    Such beautiful and special ornaments. Love the vintage look you’ve created.
    May your Christmas be blessed with time spent with loved ones and your hearts filled with Christ!
    Blessings,
    Sheila

  • Celestina Marie

    Hi Cindy, Love your décor and all the special touches in your home. Pulling out those special gifts each year bring back wonderful memories from loved ones. Have a great day.
    Hugs

  • Laurel@chippingwithcharm

    How sweet and fun! That is the best kind of decorating…memories 🙂

  • Kelly

    What wonderful memories you have relating to those special ornaments! I like how you displayed them in your home.

  • must love junk

    That’s so sweet that you kept those ornaments and now they invoke special memories! Love your vintage touches 🙂
    Susan

  • Cheryl

    Love how you have showcased your vintage ornaments. It is wonderful to keep the spirit of Christmas alive through your memories and blessings.
    Hugs!

  • "her" and Romeo

    102?!?! As in one HUNDRED and two?!?! What a treasure Elsie was! Glad that you have those ornaments to remember her by and to help you celebrate this special time of year!!!! Everything is beautiful Cindy! Of course I really love that one ironstone pitcher with the brown crazing!!!!

    Hugs,

    “her” and Romeo

  • Trace

    Oh my goodness Friend.
    What a gift.
    Such beautiful treasures.
    I love vintage Christmas treasures.
    How wonderful.
    Woolie Blessings & HUGS

  • Betsy

    Aren’t you glad you saved all these beautiful handmade ornaments? They never go out of style and will always evoke special memories.

  • Diane

    How wonderful to have handmade ornaments. Yours are lovely and they add such charming vintage appeal. Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my chalkboard too!

  • Debbie

    I think it’s wonderful that you’ve kept the ornaments all of these years, Cindy. You’ve done a great job using them in your vignettes this year. I especially like the last photo in your post…very sweet!
    xo

Leave a Reply

