~My Antique Toy Sewing Machine Collection~

I’ve had a love for sewing for as long as I can remember. My mom taught me to sew on her sewing machine when I was eleven years old. I took sewing classes in Home Ec class in High School.  My graduation gift from my parents was…(yep, you guessed it)…a sewing machine.

For years…I’ve wanted to collect toy sewing machines, but they were always more expensive than I wanted to paid for them. Then in May of last year…I found my first toy sewing machine in an antique shop and it was only $25.00…so it came home with me.

TSM-1

Then at The Endless Yard Sale last year…I found my next little toy sewing machine for $5.00. So…of course, it came home with me.

PTSM

This is how I’ve had them displayed in my sewing room since then.

TSMS

But that all changed on Christmas…when my sister gave me with these 2 toy sewing machines.

ASM-1

The black Singer toy sewing machine is from the 1990’s and the antique one is from the early 1900’s. I scolded her for getting that one, because they are every expensive…so she had to tell me that she got it for only $8.00. Wow…she did good!! Everyone I’ve ever seen as been in the $100’s to $600 or more.

Isn’t it just the cutest little thing…

TSM

So here is what the shelve looks like now…

ASM-2

I just love looking at my collection as I’m embroidering.

ASM-4

Now…I want to go hunting for more toy sewing machines to add to my collection. Luckily for me…I have cabinets on one wall in my sewing/craft room that has lots of empty space that is perfect to put more little toy sewing machines on.

Won’t be out hunting this weekend…it is bitter cold here. We are under a “Winter Storm Warning” for Sunday…6 to 10 inches of snow and then temperatures with wind chills of -30 to -40 degrees next week. This will be the coldest temps here in 20 years. Just hoping that we don’t get snowed in or lose our power.

Until next time…….         blessings, Cindy

 

 

15 responses to “~My Antique Toy Sewing Machine Collection~

  • Angela

    Love your collection of toy sewing machines Cindy. Wow, your sister did good with her gift, and the price as well. Love how you have them displayed. Wish I was in Ohio so I could see snow. It is suppose to be in the single digits here the first of the week. Brrr… Stay safe and snuggle in.
    Angela

  • Laurel@chippingwithcharm

    What a fun collection! I love the pink one 🙂

  • earlene

    I bet your sister was really excited when she found that so in expensive…very sweet. Nice collection Cindy.
    Dreading the storm coming too, it starts tonight here.
    Hugs
    Earlene

  • Carmen

    Yay! Your collection is growing!!! So cute!

  • Carol Cook

    What a wonderful collection and a perfect way to display them.

  • Celestina Marie

    Hi Cindy, I am in awe of your wonderful collection. They are amazing!! Stay warm and safe in the storm.
    Hugs!

  • Roxie

    I have always been intrigued with the little toy sewing machines…..I almost bought one over 10 years ago, but thought I really don’t need this right now….missed out!! Your collection is so nice…..they intrigue me. The black one with the painted art is my favorite…but I do love PINK! Blessings….hope you are staying warm~~~~Roxie

  • Debbie

    those little sewing machines are the sweetest little things ever, Cindy!!
    I LOVE the Singer one the best.
    We are getting snow storms too.
    Debbie
    xo

  • Diane

    What a cute collection of toy sewing machines. They’re all so sweet in their own way, but I love the antique Singer!

  • Must love junk

    What an adorable collection! They look great displayed on your shelves 🙂
    Susan

  • Old Time Cindy

    Hi Cindy!

    Popping in to see what you’ve been up to. Cute collection! Hoping to get back into the swings of things for 2014.

    Hugs,
    Cindy

  • Des

    What a great collection….they are so sweet!!!!
    Stay warm!
    ~Des

  • Jann Olson

    Oh girl I am drooling over here! I too love toy sewing machines and have wanted to collect them. I only have one black one that I found at a yard sale for $5 about 10 years ago. I have not found any that have not been big bucks. Your collection is absolutely fabulous! All are precious but the red and white would have to be my favorite. Hope it warms up for you!
    hugs,
    Jann

  • Lavender Dreams

    How sweet of your sister to find and give you such a perfect gift! They are all so cute and in all of my thrifting, I’ve never even seen one. It’s fun to be on the lookout for things you love. Hope you are surviving this bad weather. Take care and stay warm! Sweet hugs….to you AND your sister!

  • Carlene@OrganizedClutter

    Of course I love this little collection! I think the red one is my favorite!

Leave a Reply

