~Need To be Working In My Studio~

I really wanted to work in my studio today and do some machine embroidery…but it has been raining here and I can hear thunder rolling in from the distance. I won’t turn on my sewing machine or my embroidery machine if it is storming…even though we have them protected with surge protectors. So I thought that I would take you on a tour of my studio instead…

It is my place to do some creating with scissors and thread…

Scissors&Pincushion

Or some painting….

PT-3

Near my sewing machine is my scissor collection…some are vintage and some are new.

IMG_3211a

Love the tiny vintage basket that hangs near the scissor collection. It has old spools and old buttons, a vintage pair of scissors, a piece of vintage lace, and an old piece of a quilt tucked into the tiny basket.

IMG_2410

On the wall around the corner is where my toy sewing machine collection is…

ASM-2

On the other corner wall is another toy sewing machine, but this one is not vintage. I have several old spools displayed with this sewing machine…I found all the old spools at the huge flea market that is here in town in May and September. My good friend, Linda, made the stitchery that is hanging from the peg rack for my birthday a few years ago.

SewingRoom-7

So when I am working at my embroidery machine…this is what I see….

ASM-3

On the other wall across the room…is this old cedar cupboard that my sister gave to me many years ago with 2 vintage Singer sewing machines on the top that have curved wood covers and more of my spool collection. The cupboard has fabric, thread, baby blankets, and kitchen towels in it…that are just waiting to be embroidered for customer orders and for my shows that will be coming up in September, October, and November.

IMG_3248

This space was first decorated back in the days when country decorating style was the big in thing and I’m so wanting to make some changes in this room. I’m really wanting to bring some white into my creative space…so the plan is to paint the 3 shelves in this room white and making some white curtains. Also have a wood cutting table that will be painted white too…but I don’t think that I can bring myself to paint this old cupboard white.

 

 

Thinking that on the Spring days that it storms…those days will be great ones to work on a makeover in my studio!! I’ll keep you posted on how it goes.

Until next time…….      blessings from me to you, Cindy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 responses to “~Need To be Working In My Studio~

  • Celestina Marie

    Hi Cindy, Your studio is a very inspiring place to create. It so reminds me of my country style days which is so much still very collectible and seen again with white accents like you are wanting to do. I love your collections and that cupboard is a gem. Not sure I would paint that one either.
    So enjoyed the tour. Hope your storm passes without any damage.

    Have a great week and happy creating.
    Hugs

  • Cheryl

    Love all your collections and your studio looks awesome!
    A great place for creativity.
    Hugs

  • k

    We had storms here today too! It was a very yucky day. I had to get out in it too. Love your sewing machine collection you have. That looks like a wonderful space to be creative.

  • chippingwithcharm

    Looks like FUN!! Wish I had a craft room…for now I take over the dining room table 🙂

  • Debbie

    You are lucky to have a room to be creative in. It’s decorated so cute, too!! LOVE all of the vintage machines, and other pieces you’ve collected, Cindy.
    Debbie@Lakehouse

  • Suzan

    You’ll be amazed at how much brighter everything is just painting the things you want to – there’s no need to paint that cupboard at all – white and wood are perfect together ( can’t believe I’m saying that – me – who paints everything in sight would now love to incorporate some wood into my home lol )
    Love all your collections – those sewing machines are amazing – what a great space to be creative in!
    Happy weekend !
    Hugs,
    xoxox

  • Must love junk

    What a fun space! I think it would look great with some things painted white! 🙂
    Susan

  • Roxie

    Hi Cindy, You have such a nice sewing studio…….I wish I were more of a seamstress and creator of beautiful things with a sewing machine. At this point in my life, probably not….but I would knit or quilt by hand…maybe someday? I can’t blame you for not painting your one piece….I don’t think I would have the heart to do it either! Maybe some other things could be brought into the space thats painted white? Easter Blessings~~~Roxie

  • Old Time Cindy

    I wish I had a studio that nice to work in. I might be more inspired to get things done. LOL!

  • linda56

    I am in love with your scissors’ and old sewing machine collection….what a fun place to hang out….I am working in my craft room right now…de-cluttering it…you are going to laugh at my before pictures…..thanks for posting yours ….it gives me the push I need to get this room done……I had the five grandkids over last week for a few days…so I have not had time to visit blogs….I am trying to catch up now….love your spring décor too…

  • The Farmer's Daughter

    Cindy! We have such a common ground! I see so many things that would fit perfectly in my sewing room. Where did you get the Coats and Clark pin cushion? Or, did I miss that? I LOVE It! Love it all, in fact.
    Easter Hugs,
    Dru

Leave a Reply

