~Vintage Doily Dress Form~

Many years ago, when I had my shop in the small tourist town that we lived in…I purchased some dress forms from a shop that was going out of business.  I got 3 wicker bust forms and 1 very old large dress form. I used them at my shows for many years after I closed my shop…but over the years, the fabric on the large form is now falling apart. I had hope to redo the fabric and display her in my sewing/craft room. However…she is just too large to be displayed in there as the room is just too small. So for now, she is stored away.

Well…I had a gift card to Pier One and look at what I found there this past weekend…a small dress form that will fit in my sewing/craft room.

104572427

And a month or so ago…I found 6 bags of doilies at a thrift store that were only a $1.00 per bag.

DOL-1

There ended up being over 50 doilies total and I only spent $6.00 total…they sure were a great find.

DOL-2

So I decided to give my new dress form a transformation…and I love how it turned out.

DML-1

I couldn’t bring myself to put her upstairs into my sewing/craft room just yet…so she is displayed on top of the corner fireplace in the living room for now.

MFP-2

Thinking that I will leave her here thru the Summer months.

Also wanted to let you all know that I will be spotlighted tomorrow over at Susan’s blog “Must Love Junk” for the Saturday Spotlight…Life Behind the Blogger series. Hope you will go over and check it out. You might learn some things you didn’t already know about me.

http://mustlovejunk.blogspot.com/

Until next time…….       blessings, Cindy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

21 responses to “~Vintage Doily Dress Form~

  • jan

    What a great idea to use the doilies that way…and it looks great too!

  • Celestina Marie

    Hi Cindy, WOW your dress form looks gorgeous. I love all the lace. What a fabulous job you did designed her.
    Looking forward to your spotlight feature.
    Have a great weekend.
    Hugs

  • kelly

    What a cute dress form! I love how you dressed it up some of the doilies you found. I would LOVE to have a real antique full sized dress form. I saw one once at an antique store but it was just too expensive. Of course, I would just use it for show, but you could really use yours since you sew a lot.

  • Cheryl

    Love how the dress form turned out…….gotta love doilies!
    Will be checking out that Saturday Spotlight.
    Hugs!

  • Lavender Dreams

    How beautiful! I wonder if our store has any of those. I don’t go very often but I’ve always wanted one. I LOVE the way you decorated it, too! Very nice! See you tomorrow at Susan’s….did you tell ALL your secrets? Oh boy! Hugs!

  • Cindy

    Hi Cindy, I just popped over from Susan’s blog. I Love your updated dress form. How great to find all of those doilies and doll her up so beautifully! It sure is nice to meet new friends! Blessings, Cindy

  • Nana Diana

    LOVE the dress form. Just popping by from Susan’s blog. I am your newest follower and am putting you on my sidebar so I don’t miss a single post. Love what you share there- down to earth and real!!! xo Diana

  • Rita C. (Panoply)

    Hi Cindy, visiting from Susan’s feature on you, and wanting to introduce myself. Your spotlight feature makes me want to get to know you better, as there are some common threads. I also have two daughters, and both are married to paramedics, one who is also a fireman. Junking, thrifting, mountainous getaways (I’m in WV) – all make for common ground. Love your latest creation on the dress form, and will visit your eBay and Etsy shops.
    Rita C at Panoply

  • Carlene@Organized Clutter

    Love the dress form! Just caught you over at Must Love Junk! Great feature!

  • artandsand

    I enjoyed reading your feature at Must Love Junk. I have followed you for quite awhile, but now I know so much more about you.

  • Judy Clark

    Love your dress form. You did an awesome job on her. Enjoyed your article at Kris’.

    Judy

  • Vickie

    Your dress form is adorable and I envy your sewing room!

  • Mary

    I just came over from the Spotlight – it’s so nice to meet you and I will be following you.
    Mary

  • lynn at shabby story

    she turned out so sweet, cindy! great feature over at susan’s:)

  • Jann Olson

    Congrats on the feature Cindy. I visited it the other day. Fun learning a little more about you! Love the dress form! The doilies were an awesome deal and worked perfectly.
    hugs,
    Jann

  • Old Time Cindy

    Cute! Cute! Cute!

    Congrats on your feature!

  • Celestina Marie from Southern DayDreams

    Hi Cindy, I had to come back and visit your post again to see your dress form. Yes, it is the same exact one. I guess I forgot that yours came from Pier One and what it looked like before your recreated her with the lace which is gorgeous!! We must have been on the same wave length for this. I love the size!! But mine has a stand problem that’s why I got it with a discount for damage. That’s okay, I can still work with it.
    Have a fun week and see you again soon.
    Hugs!!

  • Trace

    Great job friend.
    I love how it turned out.
    Perfect for summer display.
    Woolie Hugs

  • Laurel@chippingwithcharm

    How sweet is that? Love her 🙂

  • Debbie

    She’s beautiful, Cindy! Looks wonderful in your Summer display.
    You did a fantastic job of dressing her up.
    Debbie
    xo

  • Betsy

    She’s gorgeous, love all the lace. Pinning.

Leave a Reply

