~Trip to Amish Country~

Yes…..I have been away from my blog for just over a week, while my hubby and I took a weeks vacation for our 35th anniversary. We visited with family that was up here visiting from Tennessee and did some thrifting & some junking earlier in the week. I didn’t find anything that said it had to come home with me, which is okay with me as I still had fun looking.

We also went computer shopping for a new laptop for me…my old one has been acting up, so that was another reason why I wasn’t blogging. I felt lost without my laptop, but it was good that I could keep up with visiting everyone’s blogs on my iPad. I’m still learning my way around my new laptop, but I think I’m getting the hang of it.

Then on Thursday…we headed up to Amish Country.

THOAC

And as it turned out…a fellow blogger, Angela from “Thru Nana’s Window” was up there on vacation with her husband from Georgia. We met up with them for lunch at the Farmstead Restaurant. Had a great time visiting with Angela and Jamie…both of our husbands are woodworkers and she makes goodies for their show too.

CNA-1

We surprised each other with goodie bags…and did she ever spoil me! I just love this Fall boot that she made..it has a fabric sunflower, a fabric pumpkin, and some Indian corn tuck in it. When I first put it on the shelf…little Zoey barked and barked at it. So I let her smell it…thought she was okay with it and as soon as I put it back on the shelf…she barked and barked!! Thank goodness she finally stopped barking and I’m pretty sure my laughing didn’t help. LOL…

GFA-2

And I just love these tiny little pumpkins that she made…they are so adorable and perfect for my little mouse on the ironstone saucer.

GFA-3

The Halloween cones that she gave me…ended up in my daughter’s room. She loves decorating for Halloween…so I decided I could share these with her.

GFA-1

Thanks Angela for the wonderful Fall goodies…and I hope that you are enjoying your bracelet that I made.

Oh…I almost forgot to show you what I got in Amish Country. Some new interchangeable snaps for my necklace that I got from our local country/vintage shop here in town. The shop I got these at in Amish Country had a lot of different ones that our local shop here in town didn’t carry. It is so fun to change these depending on what I’m wearing.

SJN-1

Oh…on our way home, we past the Longaberger Company’s headquarters and I thought that you might like to see it. Yes…the building looks like a giant basket!

LBB-1

I’ll leave you with these last two photos that Angela sent me from a shop they visited.

TSM-2

Wow…what an awesome collection of toy sewing machines. I just might have to frame these two photos and hang them in my sewing room.

TSM-1

Well…it is time for me to head up to the sewing room. I need to finish a few things up for my show that is this coming Saturday. Hope everyone has a great week and I’ll be back soon to show you what we did at the end of our weeks vacation.

Until next time…….       blessings, Cindy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 responses to “~Trip to Amish Country~

  • Celestina Marie

    Hi Cindy, looks like a fun time you had meeting up with Angela. She gifted you with some wonderful treasures. Love your necklace with the interchangeable centers. Those toy sewing machine pics would be great in your sewing room.
    Love the Longaberger basket building. Have fun getting ready for your show and best of luck. Hope you sell out!!
    Hugs

  • Laurel@chippingwithcharm

    Happy anniversary!! Sounds like you’ve been having lots of fun 🙂

  • kelly

    Sounds like you had a nice vacation. How nice to get to meet up with a fellow blogger and exchange gifts too! I loved getting to see the Longaberger Basket Company’s building. I used to own some of their things.

  • Holly

    Cindy, Thank you so much for our surprises! It was so sweet of you to think of Darbee and I too. I LOVE my necklace and can’t wait to wear it with a fun fall outfit. Darbee was so excited about hers too. She is such a girly girl and will wear it proudly. Thanks again. So glad you and mama got to meet.

  • Trace

    Oh how fun.
    I’m green you got to meet Angela..
    What a sweetie and she got to meet you.
    We are blessed in blog land.
    Woolie hugs

  • Mary

    Don’t you just love the Amish country – everything is so beautiful and clean and the food – OMG. We went to a Buffet restaurant and there was so much food. Even if you took a 1/2 teaspoon you couldn’t try everything.
    Thanks for sharing your lovely trip meeting up with a blogging friend and a belated Happy Anniversary.
    Mary

  • Cheryl

    Glad you had a good vacation and got to meet a blogging buddy and shared a gift exchange. Wishing you success with your show this Saturday! Hugs!

  • earlene

    Sounds wonderful Cindy!!!!! I wish I could meet Angela!!!!
    Hugs!!!
    earlene

  • Betsy

    Happy anniversary to you and your husband. What a fun way to spend a vacation! It’s always such a treat to meet up with bogging friends. Angela’s gifts to you are so adorable.

  • Jann Olson

    How fun Cindy! Love all of the goodies Angela gave you. So fun that you got to meet up. I love going to Amish country! About 10 years ago my sisters and I visited cousins in OH. They took us to the Longaberger co. I love how it looks like a basket! Those sewing machines are fabulous!
    hugs,
    Jann

Leave a Reply

