~Taking Wallpaper Border Off The Walls~

For those of you that have read my blog for awhile…know that we put in a new kitchen a few years ago and now we are ready to do some remodeling in our living room/dining room area. The carpet has been taken up in the dining room and will soon be coming out of the living room. I didn’t plan to be away from my blog for so long, but I’ve been busy taking some wallpaper border down…that has been up in our living room and dining room since around 1993.

Here is a peek at what the border looked like…

DRC-1

I really did love it for many years…and it looked great with my cottage style of decorating, but I’m ready for a change. I’m really loving the farmhouse decorating style and the simplicity of it.

So….back to the wallpaper border. It’s not a pretty site to take down the wallpaper border and find a scary paint color under it!!

WPB-2

I had forgotten that there was peach colored walls under that border…which was the color of the walls when we moved in to our home all those years ago.

WPB-1

I have the border off of three walls…one wall in the living room and two in the dining room. I have six more walls to take the border off of. If you look closely at the left corner of the photo below…you will see that the top layer of the border is off, but the under paper is still on there. This is the next wall that I’ll be working on…it is a very long wall that is in the dining room and the living room.

TLD

Did you see my huge letter D in the photo above? I took a break from working on the wallpaper and went to Hobby Lobby one day last week and got the letter D on sale for half price. I can’t wait to get it up on the wall.

TLD-1

Which unfortunately…will be after I get more of the wallpaper border off of the wall in the area where I want to hang the letter.

Going to take another break from the wallpaper border this Saturday. My sister and I are going to a Street Fair that is only 15 minutes from where I live. I’ll try to take some pictures to share with all of you.

Until next time…..        blessings from me to you, ~Cindy

 

8 responses to “~Taking Wallpaper Border Off The Walls~

  • Southern DayDreams

    Good Morning Cindy, You’ve really been working hard with the border paper take down. I know it is a challenge but will be so nice when completed. Love your letter D. It’s going to be great when hung.
    Have fun at the Street Fair!
    Hugs, CM

  • Kelly

    Ugh! I hate taking down wallpaper of any kind. It takes so long! But, it’s good that you’re taking in stages. That will help you keep your sanity! I like your large “D” that you found at Hobby Lobby. I have those letters in my family room and young son’s room. They are so fun! Have fun at the street fair.

  • Helen Philipps

    Taking down wall paper is such hard work, but it will be well worth it! Love your big letter D, it will look great on the wall. Have a wonderful time at the street fair.
    Helen xox

  • earlene

    Wish I was going with you two to the street fair! All looks so nice and love that hanging quilt!
    Hugs and have fun!!!!

  • artandsand

    love the D … love the quilt … have fun at the street fair.

  • Cheryl

    You have been working at it! Always good to take a break once in awhile from a job like that. Love the D! Have fun at the street fair……..Hugs!!

  • Angela

    Can’t wait to see the finished results Cindy. Love the big “D” and the firkin stack. I have just gotten enough to stack and am so enjoying them. A beautiful quilt you have on display. Enjoy your time with your Sister. Hope you find lots of goodies
    Angela

  • Lavender Dreams

    What a hard job. I don’t even like to think about all the wallpaper we’ve taken down. And I tried all kinds of techniques and none of them worked. But you’ll love it when it’s done. I emailed you this morning. Hope you got it! Hugs!

Leave a Reply

